In a recent interview with The Hollywood Reporter, Bordizzo spoke about the circumstances surrounding her casting as Sabine Wren in the series. The character of Sabine is already rather well-established in the Star Wars mythos after featuring prominently in the animated series Star Wars Rebels. But with this new live-action portrayal, it’s up to Bordizzo to make the role her own. Funnily enough, she may have hit closer to home during her audition than she realized at the time.

RELATED: Star Wars: 8 Important Characters Who Never Appear In The Movies

As with many big productions, many things were kept secret during the audition process for Ahsoka, meaning Bordizzo didn’t even know what or who she was auditioning for when she sent in her tape. “I remember it was a very, very coded thing that didn’t give you any information,” she said. “I had a scene from Top Gun to audition with, and I played this male pilot. And then there was another scene. I can’t remember what it was from, but it obviously wasn’t a scene from the show. So I just knew it was a very elusive Jon Favreau-related project, and at this point, like most actors, for my own mental health, I sent off the tape and didn’t think about it again.”

At the time she officially got the role, Bordizzo was actually in the middle of filming Netflix’s recently-released vampire movie Day Shift, and it caught her by surprise not only as a fan of Star Wars herself but also due to how she just so happened to handle the second scene in the audition. “I had a scene where some of the lines were like, ‘Hey lady, I’ve got all these problems, so stop bothering me. All the work is moving south for the winter.’ So this lady was trying to pay my character to help her or something, and my friend and I were like, ‘It’s almost like a young Han Solo kind of feeling,’” Bordizzo said. “So that was just complete chance, and I still think of his role often, energetically, as I’m doing [Ahsoka] now. It’s just such a great energy and very inspiring.”

So it appears as though Harrison Ford’s cocky performance as Han Solo (and possibly Alden Ehrenreich as well) has been living rent-free in Bordizzo’s mind as she’s been embodying the role of Sabine. Maybe that will give eager fans an idea of what to expect from her portrayal when the series finally premieres. After all, given Sabine’s more rebellious nature even while honoring her Mandalorian roots, it seems the 2 characters may have a bit in common.

There’s still a while to wait before finally seeing what Bordizzo came up with for Sabine’s live-action debut, but audiences can watch her now in the action-packed Day Shift on Netflix. She’s said that Ahsoka will be a rather high-stakes series, so who knows? Maybe it will slake that Star Wars thirst just enough to get by.

Ahsoka is currently set to release on Disney Plus in 2023.

MORE: 8 Animated Series To Watch If You Love Primal

Source: The Hollywood Reporter