Boyega, who played Finn in the Star Wars sequel trilogy, has been outspoken about his treatment by both fans and the studio. So it should come as no surprise that he’d have a few thoughts about the racist attacks from unfoundedly angry viewers leveled at Obi-Wan Kenobi actress Ingram. Boyega recently spoke out about the issue (and others) on SiriusXM’s Tell Me Everything With John Fugelsang, giving a surprisingly charitable appraisal of the situation, and it has a lot to do with how Disney has handled it all.

RELATED: Star Wars: The Sequel Trilogy’s Conclusion Didn’t Do Finn Justice

“Moses Ingram being protected makes me feel protected. Do you understand what I’m saying?” Boyega said. “It makes me feel like, ‘Okay, cool. I am not the elephant in the room.’ Because when I started, it wasn’t really a conversation you could bring up. You know how they went through it. It was kind of like, ‘Let’s just be silent.’ It wasn’t a conversation you could bring up. But now to see how blatant it is, to see Ewan McGregor come and support…It, for me, fulfills my time where I didn’t get the support.” Considering Boyega’s outspoken discussions about race in Star Wars, as well as how important they were to have, it’s certainly an interesting development on his part.

“It doesn’t make me feel bitter at all,” he continued when asked about his feelings on Ingram receiving protections he didn’t get. “It makes me feel like sometimes you are that guy. And my dad taught me that. Sometimes you’re not the guy to get the blessing and sometimes you are Moses, you know, you lead the people to the mountain, but you see the destination. You don’t get to go in, you get others to go in. And that’s where you get your happiness from. And for me to see other people accepted, and then at the same time to see that the studios now are like, ‘Okay, cool. This is not an elephant-in-the-room conversation. We need to support our Black client.’ It’s fantastic.” The Moses metaphor seems particularly appropriate.

Some fans might not be happy to hear what he said next, however. When asked whether he’d be willing to return as Finn in future Star Wars projects, Boyega appeared pretty clear on his stance. “I think Finn is at a good confirmation point where you can just enjoy him in other things, the games, the animation,” he said. “But I feel like [Episode] VII to [Episode] IX was good for me.”

If anyone deserves a peaceful exit from Star Wars, it’s Boyega. He was the target of racist attacks by bafflingly disgruntled fans all the way from the first trailer for The Force Awakens, so he’s definitely dealt with more than enough. Here’s hoping his career stays as successful as it’s been, and then some.

The Star Wars saga is available on Disney Plus.

MORE: The Best 30-Minute Shows on Netflix

Source: SiriusXM/YouTube