In the wake of the shocker that Jenkins’ Wonder Woman 3 would not be moving forward at DC, many became concerned that she had stepped away from the Rogue Squadron project earlier this year for nothing. It’s a valid fear, as there have been several unexpected shake-ups among DC media lately. Wonder Woman 3 seemed like a sure thing, so it would make sense that she’d drop the less certain Star Wars film in favor of something more theoretically stable.

RELATED: What Does Wonder Woman 3’s Cancellation Say About The New DCEU?

Luckily, even though Wonder Woman 3 fell through, it looks like Jenkins has no intention of leaving Rogue Squadron in the dust. After the Wonder Woman 3 news dropped, she released a statement on Twitter to clear things up on her own terms. “I originally left Rogue Squadron after a long and productive development process when it became clear it couldn’t happen soon enough and I did not want to delay Wonder Woman 3 any further,” Jenkins explained. “When I did, Lucasfilm asked me to consider coming back to RS after WW3, which I was honored to do, so I agreed. They made a new deal with me. In fact, I am still on it and that project has been in active development ever since. I don’t know if it will happen or not. We never do until the development process is complete, but I look forward to its potential ahead.”

This was part of a larger statement where Jenkins set the record straight on allegations that she had walked away from Wonder Woman 3 over studio notes. On the contrary, she cleared things up regarding the drama, saying she would have stayed on if at all possible. “I never walked away,” she stated. “I was open to considering anything asked of me. It was my understanding there was nothing I could do to move anything forward at this time. DC is obviously buried in changes they are having to make, so I understand these decisions are difficult right now.”

While it looks like Rogue Squadron isn’t necessarily a sure thing, it’s helpful to know that there’s still hope after the Star Wars space combat movie was removed from Disney’s schedule. When the project was announced, it was clear that Jenkins had a genuine passion for what she was making, so losing something like that with such a personal connection would be unfortunate.

As of now, things are still up in the air. But at the very least, Rogue Squadron hasn’t been abandoned to history quite yet. That’s certainly a reason for optimism. Here’s hoping it sees the light of day somewhere down the line.

The Star Wars saga is now available on Disney Plus.

MORE: 5 Unconventional TV Versions of Santa

Source: Patty Jenkins/Twitter